The lawyers at Mitchell J. Schroeder P.C. are knowledgeable and experienced in worker’s compensation law
The majority of employers in New York State are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance
Employees covered by workers’ compensation insurance are entitled to wage replacement and medical treatment for work-related injuries regardless of fault. However, employees are usually not entitled to sue their employers in New York State. A claim against a workers’ compensation policy is not a lawsuit.
You do not have to be involved in an accident to be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Occupational diseases are covered by workers’ compensation. For example, a carpenter who has spent 10 years lifting plywood may be entitled to workers’ compensation payments for a torn shoulder rotator cuff in spite of the fact his shoulder was not injured in an accident.
- You don’t have to miss time from work to be entitled to workers’ compensation payments.
- You should get medical treatment as soon as possible and advise your doctor how you were injured at work.
- Any work-related injury must be reported to your employer within 30 days.
- You have 2 years from the date of accident to file a claim with the workers’ compensation board.
- You should see a doctor at least every 90 days for your work-related injuries.
Remember, the workers’ compensation insurance companies are for-profit businesses. They do not want to be responsible for your claim. It is urgent that you consult an attorney experienced with workers’ compensation.
The attorneys at Mitchell J. Schroeder P.C. are experienced with workers’ compensation law. We have appointments available at our Manhattan and Rockland offices. If you need a lawyer call us at (844) 851-8511 for a FREE NO-OBLIGATION consultation.