damage to side of car

Depending on the severity of your car accident you may have sustained serious injuries or extensive damage to your car or other personal property. Car accidents can be scary and traumatic for anyone involved. If you were involved in an accident you may be able to collect compensation to cover your medical bills, lost wages, and property damage associated with the accident. However, New York is a no-fault state which can complicate the process of seeking compensation. Acquire the skills of an experienced Rockland County car accident lawyer for qualified legal assistance during your case.

What is a No-Fault State?

In terms of insurance, New York is what is known as a no-fault state. In a no-fault state, if you get into an accident, your damages are typically covered by your own insurance company. In fault states, liability must first be determined and the responsible party and their insurance are required to foot the bill for the victim’s expenses. For an accident that occurs in New York or another no-fault state, each person involved works with their own insurance companies to determine coverage. The minimum amount of auto insurance coverage that drivers are required to have in New York is as follows.

  • $50,000 for personal injury protection
  • $10,000 for property damage per accident
  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $50,000/$100,000 for deaths

Does a No-Fault State Limit My Ability to Seek Compensation?

The answer to this question is tricky. Being in a no-fault state does limit a person’s ability to seek compensation in some ways. The point of no-fault laws is to prevent courts from becoming overwhelmed with personal injury cases by requiring that they first work with their own insurance companies to recover damages. However, there are instances where you can seek compensation elsewhere.

Can I Get Compensation for My Property Damage?

To receive compensation for property damage that was acquired during the accident, you will have to file a claim with your insurance company. The minimum amount of property damage insurance you must have is $10,000 per accident. You can file a claim with your insurance company seeking compensation for your damage. However, if your property damage costs exceed $10,000 you may begin to panic.

The good news is that no-fault insurance laws only apply to injuries sustained from a car accident. If the accident occurred at the fault of another driver, you can seek reimbursement for damage to your vehicle. Hire a car accident lawyer and file a claim or lawsuit against the liable party. With the right evidence, you can recover the costs needed to repair the damage to your car.