Rockland County
Workers' Compensation Lawyers

The majority of employers in New York State are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. This means that if you’re an employee covered by workers’ compensation, you are entitled to wage replacement and medical treatment for work-related injuries regardless of fault. However, employees are usually not entitled to sue their employers in New York State. A claim against a workers’ compensation policy is not a lawsuit. The workers’ compensation lawyers at Mitchell J. Schroeder P.C. are knowledgeable and experienced in worker’s compensation law, and we are here to effectively guide you through the workers’ compensation claims process. Contact us today.

Workers’ Compensation Lawyers | Here for Clients in NYS

You do not have to be involved in an accident to be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Occupational diseases are covered by workers’ compensation. For example, a carpenter who has spent 10 years lifting plywood may be entitled to workers’ compensation payments for a torn shoulder rotator cuff in spite of the fact his shoulder was not injured in an accident. In any case, if you believe you qualify, please don’t hesitate to contact our seasoned New York injury lawyers today.

What Does Workers’ Compensation Cover in NYS?

First, you should understand that all for-profit employers and most non-profit employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance for injured employees in New York. That said, workers’ compensation benefits should cover the following, as long as you can prove you were injured on the job or developed a work-related injury or illness over time:

  • The cost of all healthcare bills related to your injury
  • Cash benefits of two-thirds of your average weekly wage
  • Travel expenses to and from your healthcare appointments pertaining to your work-related injury

Important Information About Workers’ Compensation in NYS

Just some of the most important things you should understand about workers’ compensation claims in New York are as follows:

  • You don’t have to miss time from work to be entitled to workers’ compensation payments.
  • You should get medical treatment as soon as possible and advise your doctor about how you were injured at work.
  • Any work-related injury must be reported to your employer within 30 days.
  • You have 2 years from the date of the accident to file a claim with the workers’ compensation board.
  • You should see a doctor at least every 90 days for your work-related injuries.

Remember, workers’ compensation insurance companies are for-profit businesses. They do not want to be responsible for your claim. It is urgent that you consult an attorney experienced with workers’ compensation.

Contact Our Nyack, New York Firm Today

Don’t make the mistake of pursuing workers’ compensation benefits without the guidance of a competent workers’ compensation lawyer. Mitchell J. Schroeder, P.C. is here to guide you in the right direction. Contact us today to schedule your free case evaluation with our dedicated legal team.

Website Designed & Managed by