When you are on someone else’s property such as in a store, mall, or venue, you likely assume that you are relatively safe. Property owners have a responsibility to provide their patrons and visitors with a reasonably safe and well-maintained property. If you sustained injury or property damage from a slip and fall accident, you may be entitled to compensation. If the accident resulted from the negligence of the property owner you can file a claim and collect damages to cover your property damage, medical expenses, loss of wages, and more. However, there is a statute of limitations in New York that dictates how long after the accident you may file the claim. If you were involved in a slip and fall accident, contact a skilled New York injury lawyer for help.

What is a Statute of Limitations?

A statute of limitations is a time constraint that a person has to begin pursuing legal action after being the victim of a crime or accident. It is simply the time frame in which you are legally allowed to file a lawsuit or claim. If you fail to file a claim within the statute of limitations you are no longer entitled to compensation or damages.

How Long Do I Have to File a Slip and Fall Claim?

The statute of limitations for each accident will be different depending on the state you are in. In New York, the statute of limitations for a slip and fall claim is 3 years. The three-year limit begins on the day of the accident.

The statute of limitations may be extended under certain circumstances. If you are under the age of 18 when the accident takes place, the statute of limitations will be 3 years from the day of your 18th birthday. Additionally, if the property owner flees or begins living under a false name, the statute will pause for the duration of time they were absent.

When Should I File My Slip and Fall Claim?

File a claim for your slip and fall as soon as possible. Even though you have three years to file per New York law, doing it sooner rather than later will benefit you. If you wait a long time to file, the evidence from your injuries or the scene of the crime may have been lost. A lot of slip and fall cases also hinge on eyewitness testimony. If you wait too long people may forget the details of the accident. As soon as you are injured you should notify the property owner or their staff and immediately seek medical attention.

Contact a lawyer as soon as possible. They will be able to start building your case by collecting relevant evidence from the scene, medical records, witness statements, and more.